President of India presents Ayurved Awards to 7 eminent scholars

New Delhi.(PIB/GOI/President’s Secretariat). THE President of India Ram Nath Kovind presented the Pt Ramnarayan Sharma National Ayurved Award to seven eminent Ayurvedic scholars for the years 2008-2014 at Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi recently.The Ayurved Acharyas who received the awards were Vaidya Vivekanand Pandey from New Delhi for the year 2008, Vaidya late Ramchandra Ballal Gogte from Pune for the year 2009, Vaidya Jaiprakash Narayan from Bangalore for the year 2010, Vaidya G P Dube from Varansai for the year 2011, Vaidya Krushnachand Chunekar from Varanasi for the year 2012, Vaidya Sidhhinandan Mishra from Ranchi for the year 2013 and Vaidya Banwarilal Gaur from Jaipur for the year 2014.

Addressing Ayurveda specialists present on the occasion, the President said that modern lifestyle-related diseases are affecting people rapidly, and the world is looking to alternative medicines from India. Here Ayurveda can play an important role. The President said the specialists had a huge responsibility in establishing Ayurveda as a powerful medium for the prevention, treatment and management of such diseases.

The Pt Ramnarayan Sharma National Award was instituted by the Ramnarayan Vaidya Ayurved Research Trust in 1982. It honours an eminent Ayurvedic scholar every year. The Award consists of a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh, a silver idol of Lord Dhanwantari and a citation.

(Visited 120 times, 1 visits today)